A Modest Experiment

Leave a comment

February 4, 2016 by smithartonline

A Modest Experiment Mixed media on paper 12 X 8.5 inches

A Modest Experiment
Mixed media on paper
12 X 8.5 inches

I am experimenting with a new watercolor paper. It is handmade in Spain by the company Garzapapel. The paper comes in various sizes, including this size I found on sale: 8.27 X 11.81 inches. One beauty for me is the deckle edge running the enter border.

After soaking in water I pin the damp sheet to a frame and let it dry. No longer does the watercolor paper get stapled and taped around the edges. I like to show the edges of the papers and to celebrate the process/ritual of preparing the paper carrier by allowing the pinholes to show in the final presentation. The process is important.

I used tube watercolors to provide the blue background and the figures of the whalers and whale. The coloring was bright and intense enough to please me but, being who I am and subscribing to the theory of “go with what you know,” I went back in with my airbrush making the figures the silhouette I am accustomed to…I guess I am attracted to the intense dark form.

I added some pencil and pen work, finished by adding a few buttons to give a low relief interest. By the time I declared the painting complete it was pretty much similar to my work on muslin…so much for experimentation.

As to the paper, it is delightful to work with. It is 140# with a surface somewhere between cold press and rough (it is designated “cold press”). The paper is also “bright white,” which suggests an additive to bring out the whiteness of the paper. I know some artists who avoid papers with any additives but I have not experienced any negative results. The surface has a nice tooth and takes all the media very well. It is quite sturdy. I do not generally rework the surface of my paper pieces, but I believe this will hold up well when scrubbed and scraped. I recommend you give it a try.


 

The method used to stretch watercolor paper on a wooden frame using tacks around the edges.

The method used to stretch watercolor paper on a wooden frame tacking around the edges.

The Garzapapel with the wooden frame before attaching the damp paper to it using tacks around the edges of the paper.

The Garzapapel with the wooden frame before attaching the damp paper to it.

 

Leave a Reply

Smith's Contacts

Recent Posts

Translator

Archives

Memberships

