Revealed

Leave a comment

May 21, 2015 by smithartonline

Revealed Mixed Media on Paper 12 X 16 inches

Revealed
Mixed Media on Paper
12 X 16 inches

With Revealed I am tentatively moving in a new direction, at least for the time being. I am currently approaching the painting as the object in and of itself. This breaks with my interpreting a particular subject or story. Sometimes embracing the random nature of creation can be a welcome change…a liberation.

I am using up various bits and bobs of supplies I have been lugging about for better than forty years. I have revisited my collage making days and begun to add papers and found paper-based elements to the painted surface. Something else I did with this piece was to actually tie elements on to the surface, something I used to experiment with back in the 1980s.

I am still a symbolist. I am still a storyteller. Now I simply present the elements and the viewer creates a personal story. I am sure it will be something more interesting than anything I might describe.

I am attempting to embrace play. One of my students at First Street Gallery and Art Center was totally focused upon just pushing paint around on a flat support. He found pure joy in this act, and worked daily for the years I worked at the center (some twenty years ago). I still drop in on the center and he is there finding unadulterated joy in the creative process: I envy him this.

Of late I have been too much a slave of Melancholy. Painting helps to stave off her advances. Sometimes creating helps, sometimes not so much. The only thing I am confident of is this: a day painting surely beats a day without painting.

 

Leave a Reply

Smith's Contacts

Recent Posts

Translator

Archives

Memberships

