Transforming my way out of a funk

2

May 7, 2014 by smithartonline

Transformation Drawing

In an effort to break out of a minor funk (to be nice, I will call it creator’s block, but in reality, call it a funk) I decided to just play with images and media with no specific agenda in mind. I had spent quite a bit of time on the previously posted piece in memory of Mr. Perry, and I was glad to do this for him. However, the work certainly required a significant amount of time, more than I would usually spend on one of these box affairs. I am also currently working on a much larger painting in anticipation of the annual Pasadena Society of Artists member’s exhibition. Both of the works are proving hard taskmasters. The bottom line is, sometimes one needs to step back and just play

If you look at one of my artist statements, there is mention of one of my students from the First Street Gallery Art Center, Danny. He was a genuinely happy fellow and found much joy in just pushing paint around with his brush. He really had no preconceived notions about making statements nor even making a predetermined image…he just let it happen. So I took his advice and just let it happen and I found a modicum of his joy.

For want of a better title (besides the ever popular “Untitled”) I will call the piece “Transformation.” The truth is, it is just a drawing to me. Possibly it will, down the line, provide an inspiration for a full-blown painting or box construction, but there was no motive by the artist. In this case, the picture is what it is…ceci n’est pas une pipe.

Blog End two

2 thoughts on “Transforming my way out of a funk

  1. Wow, if this is a ‘mere’ funkbreak, you ought get blocked more often. I love the colors and shapes. It gives my eye so many places to play. Go funkbreak!!!

    • Thank you for dropping by, Artickle. And thanks for the kind words.

      For me, I have found that working on a piece, which is small, no particular direction planned, and quickly done (like within a day or two) helps move me forward. This was especially true in this case since I have been focused on two other works, which are much more time consuming and, I must admit, not as enjoyable as I might wish.

      Certainly another source of help is to visit other artworks. Now days I have the luxury of being able to visit four very different museums in the Pasadena area, especially the USC Pacific Asia Museum. In my teaching days I was able to daily visit work by both my students and my fellow teachers: this time is probably the biggest artistic growth spurt for my development. This is something I really miss in my life now.

      As is true of most artists I know, hitting a block is not unheard of and usually I can work my way out of it…I just don’t want a return to one time when it lasted TWO YEARS…but this work has helped get my muse reinvigorated again.

Leave a Reply

Smith's Contacts

Recent Posts

Translator

Archives

Memberships

