The Storyteller

Leave a comment

May 3, 2014 by smithartonline

 

Storyteller Mixed Media 10.5 X 9.5 X 2 inches

Storyteller
Mixed Media
10.5 X 9.5 X 2 inches

 

I created this work, The Storyteller, in memory of Leslie Perry. Mr. Perry was known in Altadena as “The Story Man” as he really was a professional storyteller. He was one of those people you encounter around town who is a very real piece of the soul of the community. I knew him many years. He was kind, thoughtful, passionate and a staunch supporter of his friends. He was well loved and his soul touched many of us, always for good. His stories continue to be told on the web.

One of my fantasy exhibitions would have been a dual showing of my work and that of Linda Ternoir, with an opening featuring the story man himself, Leslie Perry.

The work uses colors that, to me, symbolize Leslie Perry: red, orange and black. The only figure is Coyote/Kitsune, my symbol for the storyteller. I use numerous references to the Moon and Sun symbolizing the passage of time. Also, if one looks carefully, the circular arrow is evident; a hopeful statement supporting reincarnation. Certainly, if anyone I personally have known deserves the right to move forward in development and understanding, it is Leslie Perry. I am richer for having known him.

I hope Mr. Perry is pleased.

 

Blog End two

Leave a Reply

Smith's Contacts

Recent Posts

Translator

Archives

Memberships

