The PSA Annual Show goes up and the Tah show comes down

Leave a comment

June 10, 2013 by smithartonline

The annual exhibition of Pasadena Society of Artists opened at dA Center for the Arts on Saturday, 9 June. Happily I have one piece included with approximately 80 works by members of the group. The annual is the major opportunity for participants to show their recent work to the public. The gallery space varies from year to year, and this year PSA was able to use dA Center for the Arts in Pomona. I have included a few photographs of the show, and other pictures may be seen on the Facebook page for PSA.

SAS DA 1 JPEGSAS DA 2 JPEGSAS DA 3 JPEG

The solo exhibition, Controlled Chaos, completed its run for the month of May. It was a very nice presentation of my work: paper supported pieces and constructed boxes. I have had the good fortune to be associated with Tah Gallery in South Pasadena for well over fifteen years. Sandy, the owner, has given my works wall space for this time, allowing me some solo shows and always keeping a few works available for view. Here is a link to my Webstarts page to view a few representative pieces from the recent show.

Being a slave of Melancholia, I have found myself a bit hard pressed to produce work. I have, as recently indicated, been playing with new forms and ideas, but nothing really sings for me right now…at least until today. I began building a box for a construction, without any firm idea in mind. As I entered the “mindless black hole” of cutting wood and sanding ad infinitum, a whole new direction came to mind. I still will be using the whale form I have been developing, but I decided to go in a new color direction: blues and grays. It seems a good direction to follow for now. Of course, we will see what transpires tomorrow.

Blog End two

 

Leave a Reply

Smith's Contacts

Recent Posts

Translator

Archives

Memberships

