Balance

Leave a comment

December 12, 2012 by smithartonline

Balance Framed * inchesHere is a piece called, for want of a better name, Balance, largely because of the Kitsune figures with robes complementing each other. I have moved in a few new directions with this work: add-on papers using small rivets, and the top border is borrowed from Chinese rug designs I happen to like. I also have begun working in some pencil renderings, three feathers in this case. The original model feather was donated by one of my demanding hummingbirds residing outside my window feeder.

I have decided to continue using the Kitsune form for now. The advantage is I can present a unified body of work for exhibition through subject matter. I also continue using the black field area format, which I had never tried until six or seven months ago. I was at a point in my art making that I was considering stopping…putting everything away and pursue some other avenue as yet to be determined. As luck would have it, just as I put things away a new wave of creativity came down and here I am, thanks to Yoshitoshi and to Raymond Saunders. Yoshitoshi has been mentioned earlier, Mr. Saunders is an artist whose work I have much admired for years, but it was not until very recently I began to pick it apart to determine what it was about the work I like. His work is well worth a visit.

In the mean time, I continue to develop new figures. Often these will come from some book on history or various cultures. Right now I am continuing my research into the white buffalo and coyote tales of First Nation. To me the stories are what have a universal appeal, not so much my own personal cultural identity, though my maternal family mythology suggests there may be a First Nation branch in the family tree. If this is true, it must be a fairly far removed branch. Regardless, every society has a beauty for all to enjoy and celebrate.

Leave a Reply

Smith's Contacts

Recent Posts

Translator

Archives

Memberships

