A Kitsune for Samhain?

Leave a comment

November 21, 2012 by smithartonline

Samhain Kitsune, 2012
Mixed Media on Formed Panel
18 X 18 X 2.5 inches

This piece was finished back in October. I do not know if the coloring was influenced by the abundance of black and orange all over the streets…if so, it was not a conscious plan on my part. Perhaps I should title this one Samhain Kitsune and own up to the external influences.

The panel has been painted over three times. The first time was in the late 1970’s. I put it away and forgot about it. In the early 2000’s, in an unusual fit of madness, I was cleaning things up and ran across the panel. I looked at and wisely repainted the whole thing. I put it away. In 2012 I stumbled over it again and looked at it. I repainted the whole thing. The jury is still out on this one. We will have to see how it fairs in the next decade or so.

The surface is pretty textured, which does not show well in the photograph. Nor do the silver and gold leaf areas, especially the silver disk at the top: it really is more than a blob. There is texturing with in the well-defined circular area overlaid with silver leaf.

I love my airbrush (an Iwata HPC that a friend gave me after a house fire claimed all of my equipment. That was almost twenty years ago, and this continues to be my exclusive tool, even though I have bought others along the way). There is also a joy in just pushing tube paint around. I like to shove the mud into itself and see the surprises that happen. The airbrush is more controlled, though I encourage over blows and splatters. Both techniques have their own rewards. Now days I use both methods, so I get the best of both worlds.

Leave a Reply

Smith's Contacts

Recent Posts

Translator

Archives

Memberships

